Information used in developing this appendix was culled from responses to a request for information sent to states by the committee; information posted on the Internet by state, federal, and public-health institutions; and a few published articles.

States that do not have commercial NPPs within their borders or within 10 miles of their borders do not distribute KI. Maine discontinued its distribution program after the decommissioning of the Maine Yankee power plant (Maine Bureau of Health, 2003).

Several states with commercial NPPs have thus far decided not to distribute KI. These are listed in Table C.2 with information regarding KI distribution provided by the state to the committee or otherwise available. In addition, an entry is given for Idaho, a state with a test rather than a commercial NPP; it cannot envision an accident of a magnitude that would require distribution of KI to those in the sparsely populated area near the facility.

Chapter 6 discusses the four states with only postincident distribution programs.

The discussion below provides some information on the several states with predistribution programs except Connecticut, Maryland, and Tennessee, which are discussed in detail in Chapter 6.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement