Appendix A
Biographies of Committee Members

Michael P. Ramage (NAE) (Chair) is retired executive vice president, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company. Previously he was executive vice president and chief technology officer, Mobil Oil Corporation. Dr. Ramage held a number of positions at Mobil, including those of research associate, manager of Process Research and Development, general manager of Exploration and Producing Research, vice president of Engineering, and president of Mobil Technology Company. He has broad experience in many aspects of the petroleum and chemical industries. He serves on a number of university visiting committees and is a member of the Government-University Industrial Research Roundtable. He is a director of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and a member of several other professional organizations. Dr. Ramage is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and serves on the NAE Council. He has a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Purdue University.

Rakesh Agrawal (NAE) is Air Products Fellow at Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., where he has worked since 1980. His research interests include basic and applied research in gas separations, process development, synthesis of distillation column configurations, adsorption and membrane separation processes, novel separation processes, gas liquefaction processes, cryogenics, and thermodynamics. He has broad experience in hydrogen production and purification technologies. His current interest is in energy production issues, especially those related to renewable sources such as solar. He holds more than 100 U.S. and 300 foreign patents. He has authored 61 technical papers and given many lectures and presentations. He chaired the Separations Division and the Chemical Technology Operating Council of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and also a Gordon Conference on Separations. Dr. Agrawal received a B.Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technology, in Kanpur, India; an M.Ch.E. from the University of Delaware; and an Sc.D. in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

David L. Bodde holds the Charles N. Kimball Chair in Technology and Innovation at the Henry W. Bloch School of Business and Public Administration, University of Missouri, Kansas City. He has extensive experience in energy policy and technology assessment, and his current work focuses on the role of entrepreneurs in the innovation and commercialization of energy technologies. He has served as corporate vice president, Midwest Research Institute (MRI), and president of MRI’s for-profit subsidiary, MRI Ventures. He was executive director of the National Research Council’s (NRC’s) Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems; assistant director, Congressional Budget Office; deputy assistant secretary, Department of DOE (DOE); and manager, Engineering Analysis Office, Energy Systems Planning Division, TRW, Inc. He has worked on numerous studies involving nuclear energy, coal, synthetic fuels, electric utilities, renewable energy technologies, and commercialization. He recently served as chair of the Environmental Management Board, advising the DOE on the cleanup of the U.S. nuclear weapons complex, and is a member of the NRC Board on Energy and Environmental Systems. His current work includes research and teaching in the strategic use of technology to create new ventures in energy, the environment, and education. He holds the Doctor of Business Administration, Harvard University (1976); M.S. degrees in nuclear engineering (1972) and management (1973); and a B.S. from the United States Military Academy (1965).

Robert Epperly is a consultant. From 1994 to 1997, he was president of Catalytica Advanced Technologies, Inc., a company developing new catalytic technologies for the petroleum and chemical industries. Before joining Catalytica, he was chief executive officer of Fuel Tech N.V., a company specializing in new products for combustion and air pollu-

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement