Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

CRAIG R. BARRETT [NAE] is chief executive officer of Intel Corporation. He received a BSc in 1961, an MS in 1963, and a PhD in 1964, all in materials science from Stanford University. After graduation, he joined the faculty of Stanford University in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and remained through 1974, rising to the rank of associate professor. Dr. Barrett was a Fulbright Fellow at Danish Technical University in Denmark in 1972 and a North Atlantic Trade Organization Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Physical Laboratory in England from 1964 to 1965. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1994 and became NAE chair in July 2004. Dr. Barrett joined Intel in 1974 as a technology-development manager. He was named a vice president in 1984, and was promoted to senior vice president in 1987 and executive vice president in 1990. Dr. Barrett was elected to Intel’s board of directors in 1992 and was named the company’s chief operating officer in 1993. He became Intel’s fourth president in May 1997 and chief executive officer in 1998. Dr. Barrett is a member of the boards of directors of Qwest Communications International Inc., the National Forest Foundation, Achieve, Inc., the Silicon Valley Manufacturing Group, and the Semiconductor Industry Association. In addition to serving as cochairman of the National Alliance of Business Coalition for Excellence in Education, Dr. Barrett served on the National Commission on Mathematics and Science Teaching for the 21st Century (also known as the Glenn Commission). Dr. Barrett is the author of over 40 technical papers dealing with the influence of microstructure on the properties of materials and of a textbook on materials science, Principles of Engineering Materials. He was the recipient of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers Hardy Gold Medal in 1969.

GAIL CASSELL [IOM] is vice president of scientific affairs and Distinguished Lilly Research Scholar for Infectious Diseases of Eli Lilly and Company. She was previously the Charles H. McCauley Professor and chairman of the Department of Microbiology at the University of Alabama Schools of Medicine and Dentistry at Birmingham, a department that ranked first in research funding from the National Institutes of Health under her leadership. She is a current member of the Director’s Advisory Committee of the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. She is a past president of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), a former member of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s Advisory Committee, and a former member of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases of NIH. Dr. Cassell served 8 years on the Bacteriology-Mycology 2 Study Section and as chair for 3 years. She also was previously chair of the Board of Scientific Councilors of the Center for Infectious Diseases of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Dr.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement