Appendix A
Committee and Staff Biographies

H. Catherine W. Skinner (Chair) holds teaching and research positions in the Departments of Geology and Geophysics, Yale University, and Orthopedics and Rehabilitation, Yale Medical School. She previously held positions at the National Institute of Arthritis and Metabolic Diseases, the National Institute of Dental Research, and the Department of Biology, Yale University. Dr. Skinner is a fellow of the Geological Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Mineralogical Society of America and has served as president of the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is a trustee of the Geological Society of America Foundation. Her research areas include minerals, particularly minerals found in life forms, microbes, invertebrates and vertebrates, and the processes of biomineralization. Dr. Skinner is an author of the major reference text Dana’s New Mineralogy, three other books, and over 70 research papers. She received her B.A. from Mount Holyoke College, her M.A. from Radcliffe, and her Ph.D. from the University of Adelaide, South Australia.

Herbert E. Allen is a professor of environmental engineering at the University of Delaware. Before joining the faculty of the University of Delaware in 1989, he was director of the Environmental Studies Institute and professor of chemistry at Drexel University; previously he was on the faculty of the Department of Environmental Engineering at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Dr. Allen received his Ph.D. and B.S. from the University of Michigan and his M.S. from Wayne State University. Dr. Allen’s research has primarily been concerned with the fate and effects of trace

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement