1990, when he was appointed provost. He was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1988 and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1986. In 2001, he was elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society. From 2000 to 2006, Dr. Wrighton was a presidential appointee to the National Science Board (NSB), which serves as a science policy advisor to the president and Congress and is the primary advisory board of the National Science Foundation. While serving on the NSB, he chaired the Audit and Oversight Committee. Dr. Wrighton earned a B.S. from Florida State University in 1969 and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1972.

JOHN F. AHEARNE, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, is Executive Director Emeritus of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society; an adjunct scholar at Resources for the Future; and an adjunct professor of civil and environmental engineering at Duke University. His professional interests are reactor safety, energy issues, resource allocation, and public policy management. He has served as commissioner and chair of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, system analyst for the White House Energy Office, deputy assistant secretary of energy, and principal deputy assistant secretary of defense. Dr. Ahearne currently is vice chair of the Department of Energy’s Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the Society for Risk Analysis, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; he is a member the American Nuclear Society; and he has been active in several National Research Council committees that examined issues in risk assessment. Dr. Ahearne received a Ph.D. in physics from Princeton University.

ALLEN J. BARD, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, is a professor of chemistry and biochemistry and holds the Norman Hackerman/Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin. He has published widely and is the winner of numerous honors and awards, including the Priestley Medal and the Welch and Wolf Prizes. Dr. Bard was president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemists (IUPAC) and editor in chief of the Journal of the American Chemical Society from 1982 to 2001. He has served on the National Research Council’s Energy Engineering Board (EEB), been chair of the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology, chaired the EEB Committee on Potential Applications of Concentrated Solar Photons, and served as president of the U.S.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement