Click for next page ( 67

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 66
Appendix C Steering Committee Members Charles W. (Chuck) Rice (Chair) is professor of soil microbiology and director of the Consortium for Agricultural Soils Mitigation of Greenhouse Gases at Kansas State University, where he has served on the faculty since 1988. His current research interests include soil microbial ecology, carbon and nitrogen cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, denitrification, and nitrogen mineralization. Dr. Rice is active in many professional societies, including the Soil Science Society of America, American Society of Agronomy, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He earned his Ph.D. in 1983 from the University of Kentucky in soil microbiology. He is a member of the U.S. National Committee for Soil Science. Paul M. Bertsch is professor of environmental chemistry and toxicology at the University of Kentucky. He previously served as director of the Savan- nah River Ecology Laboratory and professor of soil physical chemistry and mineralogy at the University of Georgia at Athens. His current research interests include molecular environmental science, biogeochemistry, surface geochemistry, and the influence of mineralogical and surface charge prop- erties of sediments and soils on geochemical processes. Dr. Bertsch earned his Ph.D. in soil physical chemistry and mineralogy from the University of Kentucky in 1983. He is currently chair of the U.S. National Com- mittee for Soil Science and previously served on the Committee on Earth Resources of the National Research Council. 66

OCR for page 66
APPENDIX C 67 Johan Bouma is a member of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences (RDAS) (1989), a fellow of the Soil Science Society of America (1983), and an honorary member of the International Union of Soil Sciences (2006). His research interests are in the field of hydropedology and land-use policy. He was a member of the Scientific Council for Government Policy in the Netherlands from 1998 to 2004. He was vice chair of the physics section board of the RDAS in Amsterdam (2004-2006) and is chair of the scientific advisory committee of a national research program on sustainable agricul- ture. Dr. Bouma obtained his Ph.D. in 1969 at Wageningen University, the Netherlands, in soil science and soil tillage. He was a tenured associate professor of soil science at the University of Wisconsin, Madison from 1972 to 1975. He recently retired from Wageningen University. Jennifer Harden is a soil scientist on the research staff at the U.S. Geologi- cal Survey, where she has served as project scientist and/or project chief since 1982. She has contributed to research on geologic mapping, geochronol- ogy, geologic faulting, paleoclimate, landform evolution, carbon cycling, and biogeochemical interactions in soil systems. Her research is currently focused on the role of soils in carbon and nutrient cycling, with an empha- sis on landscape disturbances such as glaciation, agricultural erosion and sedimentation, and wildfire. She received her Ph.D. in soil science at the University of California, Berkeley, in 1982. Jerry L. Hatfield is director at the U.S. Department of Agriculture–Ag- ricultural Research Service National Soil Tilth Laboratory at Ames, Iowa. He has developed a quantitative understanding of the interactions of water- radiation-nitrogen across different soils, leading to improved production efficiency, grain quality, and environmental quality in crop production systems. He is also involved in the integration of remote-sensed data into soil and crop management models that will lead to improved crop manage- ment decisions. Dr. Hatfield’s research has also improved understanding of the energy and gas exchanges in the soil-plant-atmosphere complex that accounts for spatial and temporal variations. He earned his Ph.D. in agronomy (agricultural climatology) at Iowa State University in 1975. Julie D. Jastrow is a terrestrial ecologist in the Biosciences Division at Ar- gonne National Laboratory in Illinois, where she has been on the scientific staff since 1975. She is a past president of the Soil Ecology Society. Dr. Jastrow has contributed to research on restoration ecology, mycorrhizae,

OCR for page 66
68 APPENDIX C and soil aggregation. She is currently involved in research to understand and quantify the processes involved in soil carbon storage and turnover, which is essential for determining the carbon sequestration potential of terrestrial ecosystems. She earned her Ph.D. in biological sciences from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1994. William A. Jury is emeritus distinguished professor of soil physics at the University of California, Riverside, and a former member of the U.S. Na- tional Committee for Soil Science. His long-term research interests are in the areas of measurement and modeling of organic and inorganic chemical movement and reactions in field soils, and more recently in global water issues. Dr. Jury earned his Ph.D. in physics at the University of Wisconsin in 1973. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Joaquin Ruiz is the dean of the College of Science and a professor of geosci- ences at the University of Arizona. From 1995 to 2000, Dr. Ruiz served as the head of the University of Arizona’s Department of Geosciences. Dr. Ruiz is an expert in radiogenic isotopes applied to the study of regional tecton- ics, origin of magmas, and hydrothermal ore deposits. He is a fellow of the Geological Society of America and Society of Economic Geologists. He is a member of the National Research Council’s Board on Earth Sciences and Resources, and a former member of the Committee on Earth Resources. He received a B.Sc. in geology and a B.S. in chemistry from the University of Miami, and an M.S. and Ph.D. (1983) in geology from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.