Holly Hagan, PhD, MPH, is a senior research scientist in the New York University College of Nursing, deputy director of the Center for Drug Use and HIV Research, and director of the center’s Interdisciplinary Research Methods Core. Previously, she was deputy director of the Institute for AIDS Research in the National Development and Research Institutes. She was a senior epidemiologist in the Department of Public Health in Seattle, WA. Her broad research interest is in the etiology and prevention of hepatitis C and other bloodborne viral infections in drug users and other high-risk populations; her work has also examined drug users’ access to screening and health care. Dr. Hagan has served on several national government advisory groups, including the steering committee for the National Institutes of Health hepatitis C vaccine trial. She received her MPH in epidemiology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst School of Public Health and her PhD in epidemiology from the University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine.

Sandral Hullett, MD, MPH, is the chief executive officer and medical director of the Jefferson Health System, which consists of Cooper Green–Mercy Hospital and Jefferson Outpatient Care. Jefferson Health System’s primary focus is service to the underserved populations of Jefferson County, AL. Previously, Dr. Hullett was the executive director of Family HealthCare of Alabama, which is headquartered in Eutaw, Alabama, and provided services to patients of west central Alabama. She has an interest in rural health care, including health-care planning and delivery to the underserved, underinsured, and poor; and she has extensive experience in research, clinical trials, community outreach, and teaching of direct care delivery. Dr. Hullett is a member of IOM and has served on several IOM committees, including committees that produced America’s Health Care Safety Net: Intact but Endangered; Quality Through Collaboration: The Future of Rural Health; and Measuring What Matters: Allocation, Planning, and Quality Assessment for the Ryan White CARE Act; the Planning Committee for a Workshop on Military Medical Ethics: Issues Regarding Dual Loyalties; and the Committee on Human Rights of NAS, NAE, and IOM. She has received many awards and honors, including the Rural Practitioner of the Year Award in 1988 from the National Rural Health Association, the Clinical Recognition Award for Education and Training from the National Association of Community Health Centers in 1993, the Public Health Hero Award for Year 2000 from the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Public Health, the National Medical Fellowship in 2001, Lifetime Achievement of Women in Health Care from Rutgers University in 2002, and the Local Legends Award from the American Medical Women’s Association in February 2004. She received her MD from the Medical College of Pennsylvania and her MPH from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement