was awarded the Nobel prize for the discovery that liquid helium-3 undergoes a pairing transition similar to that of superconductors. He has also received a Guggenheim fellowship, the Eighth Simon Memorial Prize (of the British Physical Society), the Buckley Prize of the APS, and an honorary doctorate of science from the Ohio State University. He has published more than 95 scientific articles in leading research journals.

Robert R. Beebe (NAE) is a former senior vice president of Homestake Mining Company. He has broad expertise in mineral economics and public policy, mineral processing and extractive metallurgical research, and mining and mineral project development and administration. Mr. Beebe is a member of the Society for Mining, Minerals and Exploration, and in 2001 he was named a national associate of the National Academies.

John R. Campbell is president and CEO of J.R. Campbell & Associates, Inc. Prior to forming this consulting firm in 1981, John Campbell held management and executive positions with two leading industrial gas companies. His last position was as executive vice president and chief operating officer of Burdox, Inc. (later, AGA Gas, Inc., and now part of Linde AG). In that company, then the largest of the independent U.S. regional gas companies, Mr. Campbell was responsible for day-to-day operations. Before that, he worked in a variety of gas-related marketing and management positions for Air Products & Chemicals, Inc. Mr. Campbell has an engineering degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and an M.B.A. from Lehigh University. He served as president and board member of the International Oxygen Manufacturers Association and has been active in the Compressed Gas Association, the Gases & Welding Distributor Association, and several associations of gas-using industry and service sectors.

Moses H. Chan is Evan Pugh Professor of Physics at Pennsylvania State University. He received a B.A. from Bridgewater College and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Cornell University. His research interests are phase transitions, particularly quantum fluids and solids at cryogenic temperatures, reduced dimensionalities, and the presence of disorder. Dr. Chan received the Fritz London Memorial Prize in Low-Temperature Physics (1996), the John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship (1986), the Senior Research Fellowship of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (1982). Dr. Chan is also a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Janie M. Chermak is a professor of economics at the University of New Mexico. Her research interests focus on the economics associated with natural resources and the environment and include studies of natural gas markets and regulation, modeling the uncertainties associated with natural gas supplies, and the economics of

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement