HOWARD E. SIMMONS, Jr., Ph.D., is vice president, Central Research and Development Department, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc., in Wilmington, Delaware.

ROBERT L. SPRAGUE, Ph.D., is a professor in the College of Medicine and is the director of the Institute for Research on Human Development at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

SHEILA WIDNALL, D.Sc., is associate provost and Abby Rockefeller Mauze Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Widnall was formerly president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

PATRICIA K. WOOLF, Ph.D., has conducted research and written extensively about misconduct and the sociology of science. She is a lecturer in the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton University.

KEITH R. YAMAMOTO, Ph.D., is professor and vice chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco.

Study Staff

ROSEMARY CHALK, study director, previously directed the 1989 Institute of Medicine study on scientific conduct. She also served as program head of the AAAS Office of Scientific Freedom and Responsibility from 1976 to 1986.

BARRY D. GOLD, senior staff officer, was previously senior program associate at the AAAS. He also served as a staff officer for the AAAS-American Bar Association National Conference of Lawyers and Scientists.

DAVID H. GUSTON, research associate, is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Political Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has previously served as a research assistant at the AAAS and at the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement