The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 177
Oceanography in the Next Decade: Building New Partnerships APPENDIXES

OCR for page 177
Oceanography in the Next Decade: Building New Partnerships This page in the original is blank.

OCR for page 177
Oceanography in the Next Decade: Building New Partnerships I How the Study Was Conducted This study is the result of several years' activity by the Ocean Studies Board (OSB) and the U.S. ocean science community. The Board convened three workshops, one on facilities (May 30–31, 1990) and two on future science directions in oceanography (March 11–12 in Irvine, California and April 22, 1991 in Washington, D.C.). Additional community input was sought through two special sessions at meetings of the American Geophysical Union. In addition, the OSB surveyed federal agencies and academic institutions on fiscal, physical, and human resources. The OSB especially thanks scientists who were not members of the Board during the duration of this study but who contributed to or reviewed portions of this report or contributed at one of its workshops: Alice Alldredge Neil Andersen David Aubrey Arthur Baggeroer D. James Baker Karl Banse William Berggren Michael Brown Otis Brown Harry Bryden David Christie Thomas Church Michael Coffin Russ Davis John Delaney Roland deSzoeke Tom Dickey Andrew Dickson Hugh Ducklow Ann Durbin John Edmond J. Farrell Fred Fisher Jeff Fox Gary L. Geernaert Wayne R. Geyer

OCR for page 177
Oceanography in the Next Decade: Building New Partnerships Joel Goldman Jeff Graham George Grice Melinda Hall David Halpern Eric Hartwig James Hays Thomas Hayward G. Ross Heath Kenneth Johnson Peter Jumars Keith Kaulum James Kennett Dana R. Kester Victor Klemas Devendra Lal Richard Lambert Donald Langenberg Charles Langmuir Art Lerner-Lam James Ledwell Bonnie MacGregor Curt Mason Marsha McNutt Joan Mitchell Ralph Moberly Christopher Mooers J. Bradford Mooney Jason Phipps Morgan Waiter Munk John Mutter Stewart Nelson William A. Nierenberg Peter Niiler Charles Nittrouer Worth Nowlin E. Okal Donald Olson William Patzert Charles Peterson Michael Pilson Robert Pinkel Nicolas Pisais Robert Presley Joseph Prospero Barry Raleigh Desiraju B. Rao Roger Revelle Peter Rhines Steve Riser Paola Rizzoli Bruce Rosendahl Thomas Rossby George Saunders David Schink Ronald Schlitz Raymond W. Schmitt Jerry Schubel Bert Semtner Thomas Shipley Eugene A. Silva Michael R. Sissenwine George Somero Derek W. Spencer William Stubblefield Fumiko Tajima Taro Takahashi Ronald Tipper Brian E. Tucholke Pat Walsh Clinton Winant Xiao-Hai Yan James Yoder