Click for next page ( 178

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 177
iPPE~nA Background Information on Comm'~ee Members REUEL A. STAI'LO~:S, Chairwoman, is Dean of the University of Texas School of Public He alth in Souston. Dr . Stallones Is an epidemiologist specializing in studies of risk factors in cardiovascular disease and is a member of the Institute of Medicine. }le is a past member of the NRC Board on Toxicology and Environs mental Health Hazards and has served on several ARC committees that evaluated the risks of environmental pollutants. MORTON CORN is Director of the Division of Environmental Health Engineering at the School of Bygiene and Public Health, The Johns Hopkins University. Be specializes in evaluation and engineering control of airborne chemical agents in the workplace and the atmosphere. Dr. Corn served as the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Bealth from October 1975 to January 1977. Be is a member of the Panel of Experts in Occupational Bealth of the world Health Organization and serves on committees of EPA' s Science Advisory Board and the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment. KENNY S. CR=P is President of Science Research Systems, Inc., a consulting f irm specializing in the evaluation of statistical data and risk assessment. Ilis work on methods of extrapolating from high to low doses is used by EPA's Carcinogen Assessment Group. Be was previously with Louisiana Tech University where he was Professor of Mathematics and Statistics. J. CLARENCE DAVIES Is Executive Vice President of the Conservation Foundation. Be has served on other NRC 177

OCR for page 177
178 committees dealing with regulatory issues, was chair- man of the NRC Committee on Principles of Decision Making for Regulating Chemicals in the Environment (1974-1975), and now serves on the Environmental Studies Board. Dr. Davies served for 6 years as a member of the Executive Co~uu~ttee of EPA's Science Advisory Board. VINCENT P. DOLE is Professor of Medicine at Rockefeller University and conducts research on addictive behavior and metabolic diseases. Dr. Dole is a member of the National Academ:? 09 Sciences and has served as an NAS reviewer of a newer of risk-related studies. TED R. I. GREENWOOD is Associate Professor of Political Science at MIT. Be has served as a Senior Policy Analyst in the Office of Science and Technology Policy (1977-1979). Dr. Greenwood has written about the problem of nuclear waste disposal and recently completed a monograph on the interaction between knowledge and discretion in regulatory deciszon-making. RICHARD A. MERRILL is Dean of the Law School of the University of Virginia. He has been on the Law School faculty since 1969, except for 2 years (1975-1977), when he served as Chief Counsel to the FOA. Be recently completed a study of regulatory decisions making on carcinogens for the Administrative Conference of the IJnited States that Focused on FOA's regulation of food contaminants, CPSC's regulation of chronic hazards, OSEA's program for workplace carcinogens, and Me EPA pesticides program. Dean Merrill is a member of the Institute of Medicine and the Am: Board on Toxicology and Environmental Bealth Hazards. He teaches food and drug law, environmental health regulation, and administrative law. FRANKLIN E. MIRER is Director of the Bealth and Safety Department of the International Union, United Auto Workers. Dr. Mirer, an industrial hygienist and toxicologist, has been with the OAW si nce 1975. Be specializes in issues related to workplace chemical exposures and development of OSEA standards. D. RAPPER NOT is a Principal with Decision Focus, Inc., a consulting firm specializing in decision analysis, and consulting Associate Professor with the Department

OCR for page 177

OCR for page 177
180 Commission. Be has been a council member of the Society for Risk Analysis and is President-elect of that organization. H. MICHAEL D. OTIDJIAN Is Corporate Medical Director at the American Cyanamid Company. Dr. Utidj~an has been active in occupational medal cine since 1961. Before gaining his current position, he was a Staff Scientist at Stanford Research Institute and served as a consultant to NIOSE. Be also served as Associate Corporate Medical Director at Onion Carbide. ELIZABETH WEISB~GER is Assistant Director for Chemical Carc~nogenesis at the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Weisburger, a toxicologist/oncologist, has been at ACT for 33 years and was involved in initial NCI decisions on establishing its bioassay program and determining which compounds to test.