Page iv


M. GORDON WOLMAN, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, Chairman

PATRICK R. ATKINS, Aluminum Company of America, Pittsburgh, PA

EDITH BROWN WEISS, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, DC

PETER S. EAGLESON, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

EDWARD A. FRIEMAN, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, CA

W. BARCLAY KAMB, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA

JACK E. OLIVER, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

FRANK L. PARKER, Vanderbilt/Clemson University, Nashville, TN

RAYMOND A. PRICE, Queen's University at Kingston, Ontario, Canada

THOMAS A. SCHELLING, University of Maryland, College Park, MD

LARRY L. SMARR, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL

STEVEN M. STANLEY, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

VICTORIA J. TSCHINKEL, Landers and Parsons, Tallahassee, FL

WARREN WASHINGTON, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, CO


STEPHEN RATTIEN, Executive Director

STEPHEN D. PARKER, Associate Executive Director

MORGAN GOPNIK, Assistant Executive Director

JEANETTE SPOON, Administrative Officer

SANDI FITZPATRICK, Administrative Associate

ROBIN ALLEN, Senior Project Assistant (BOND)

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement