The National Science Education Standards are the product of the efforts of many individuals and groups. We want to acknowledge

The National Committee on Science Education Standards and Assessment

The Chair's Advisory Committee

The Executive Editorial Committee

The Content Working Group

The Teaching Working Group

The Assessment Working Group

The Focus Groups

The National Review Groups

The many individuals who have served as consultants to the project

All who have diligently reviewed the drafts

The National Science Education Standards Development Team

   Angelo Collins, Director

   Rodger Bybee, Chair, Content Working Group

   Karen Worth, Chair, Teaching Working Group

   Audrey Champagne, Chair, Assessment Working Group

   Harold Pratt, Senior Program Officer

The National Research Council Staff

   Donna M. Gerardi, Special Assistant for New Initiatives

   Patrice Legro, Senior Program Office

   Lee R. Paulson, Managing Editor

   Douglas K. Sprunger, Senior Project Assistant

   Suzanne White, Senior Project Assistant

   Tina M. Winters, Editorial Assistant

See Appendix for members of the above groups.

Major funding for this project was provided by the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and a National Academy of Sciences president's discretionary fund provided by the Volvo North American Corporation, The Ettinger Foundation, Inc., and the Eugene McDermott Foundation.

National Science Education Standards is available for sale from the National Academy Press, 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Box 285, Washington, DC 20055. Call 800-624-6242 or 202-334-3313 (in the Washington metropolitan area). It is also available via internet at

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement