Click for next page ( 225

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 224
National Science Resources Center Advisory Boaril Chair Joseph A. Miller, Ir. Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President for Research and Development, E. I. du Pont de Nemours Accompany, Wilmington, Del. Members Ann Bay Director, Office of Elementary and Secondary Education, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. DeAnna Banks Beane Project Director, YouthALlVE, Association of Science-Technology Centers, Washington, D. C. Fred P. Corson Vice President and Director, Research and Development, The Dow Chemical Company, Midland, Mich. Goery Delacote Executive Director, The Exploratorium, San Francisco, Calif: loAnn E. DeMaria Elementary School Teacher, Hutchison Elementary School, Herndon, Va. Peter Dow Education Director, Buffalo Museum of Science, Buffalo, N.Y. Hubert M. Dyasi Director, The Workshop Center, City College School of Education (The City University of New YorkJ, New York, N. Y. Bernard S. Finn Curator, Division of Electricity and Modern Physics, National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. Robert M. Fitch Senior Vice President (retired), Research and Development, S. C. Johnson Wax, Racine, Wis. ferry P. Gollub Professor of Physics, Haverford College, Haverford, Pa. Ana M. Guzman Vice President, Cypress Creek Campus, Austin Community College, Cedar Park, Tex. Anders Hedberg Director, Centerfor Science Education, Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute, Princeton, N.J. 224

OCR for page 224
NSRC Advisory Board Richard Hinman Senior Vice President (retired,, Research and Development, Pf zer Central Research, Groton, Conn. David Jenkins Associate Director for Interpretive Programs, National Zoological Park, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. Mildred E. Iones Director, New York City Urban Systemic Initiative, Brooklyn, N. John W. Layman Director, Science Teaching Center, and Professor, Departments of Education and Physics, University of Maryland, College Park, Md. Leon Lederman Chairman, Board of Trustees, Teachers Academy for Mathematics and Science, Chicago, III., and Director Emeritus, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Batavia, Ill. Sarah A. Lindsey Science Coordinator, Midland Public Schools, Midland, Mich. Lynn Margulis Distinguished University Professor, ~Department of Botany, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Mass. Theodore Maxwell Chairman, Centerfor Earth and Planetary Studies, National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. Mara Mayor Director, The Smithsonian Associates, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. John A. Moore Professor Emeritus, Department of Biology, University of California, Raverside, Calif: Carlo Parravano Director, Merck Institute for Science Education, Rakway, N.J. Robert W. Ridky Professor of Geology, University of Maryland, College Park, Md. Ruth 0. Selig Executive Assistant to the Provost, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. Maxine F. Singer President, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D. C. Robert D. Sullivan Assistant Director for Public Programs, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. Gerald F. Wheeler Executive Director, National Science Teachers Association, Arlington, Va. Richard L. White Executive Vice President and President of Fibers, Organics, and Rubber Division, Bayer Corporation, Pittsburgh, Pa. Paul H. Williams Director, Center for Biology Education, and Professor, Department of Plant Pathology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis. Karen L. Worth Faculty, Wheelock College, and Senior Associate, Urban Elementary Science Project, Education Development Center, Newton, Mass. Ex Officio Members Rodger Bybee Executive Director, Centerfor Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Education, National Research Council, Washington, D. C. E. William Colglazier Executive Officer, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D. C. J. Dennis O'Connor Provost, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. Barbara Schneider Executive Assistantfor Programs, Office of the Provost, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C. 225

OCR for page 224
National Science Resources Center The National Science Resources Center (NSRC) is operated by the Smithsonian Institution and the National Academy of Sciences to improve the teaching of sci- ence in the nation's schools. The NSRC collects and disseminates information about exemplary teaching resources, develops and disseminates curriculum ma- terials, and sponsors outreach activities, specifically in the areas of leadership de- velopment and technical assistance, to help school districts develop and sustain hands-on, inquiry-centered science programs. The NSRC is located in the Arts and Industries Building of the Smithsonian Institution and in the Capital Gallery Building in Washington, D.C. National Academy of Sciences The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit, self-perpetuating soci- e~cy of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, ded- icated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the gen- eral welfare. Upon the authority of the charter granted to it by the Congress in 1863, the Academy has a mandate that requires it to advise the federal govern- ment on scientific and technical matters. Dr. Bruce M. Alberts is president of the National Academy of Sciences. National Research Council The National Research Council was organized by the National Academy of Sci- ences in 1916 to associate the broad community of science and technology with the Academy's purposes of furthering knowledge and advising the federal gov- ernment. Functioning in accordance with general policies determined by the Academy, the Council has become the principal operating agency of both the Na- tional Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering in provid- ing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The Council is administered jointly by both Academies and the In- stitute of Medicine. Dr. Bruce M. Alberts and Dr. William A. Wulf are chairman and interim vice chairman, respectively, of the National Research Council. Smithsonian Institution The Smithsonian Institution was created by an act of Congress in 1846 in accor- dance with the will of the Englishman James Smithson, who in 1826 bequeathed his property to the United States of America "to found at Washington, under the name of the Smithsonian Institution, an establishment for the increase and dif- fusion of knowledge among men." The Smithsonian has since evolved into an in- stitution devoted to public education, research, and national service in the arts, sciences, and history. This independent federal establishment is the~world's largest museum complex and is responsible for public and scholarly activities, ex- hibitions, and research projects nationwide and overseas.