Click for next page ( 94

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 93
Appendix C Acknowledgments The Committee on Criteria for Federal Support of Research ant! Development is very grateful to the many inclividuals who played a significant role in the comple- tion of this stucly. The committee met four times for 10 days, ant! extends its grati- tucle to the following individuals who appeared before the full committee to provide background information and discuss pertinent issues: Marvin Cassman, acting director of the National Institute of General Mectical Sciences, National Institutes of Health; Ruth Kirschstein, deputy director, National institutes of Health; Jucly Vaitukaitis, director, National Center for Research Resources, National institutes of Health; Harold Varmus, ciirector, National Institutes of Health; France Cordova, chief scientist, National Aeronautics and Space Administration; Daniel Goictin, aciministra- tor, National Aeronautics and Space Administration; James Decker, deputy director, Office of Energy Research, Department of Energy; Martha Krebs, director, Office of Energy Research, Department of Energy; Essex Finney, associate administrator, Agricultural Research Program, Department of Agriculture; David GoIctston, former project director, Council on Competitiveness; Mary Good, undersecretary for tech- nology, Department of Commerce; Senator Tom Harkin, (D-TO); Robert Hermann, senior vice president for science and technology, Uniter! Technologies Corporation; Robert Huggett, assistant administrator for research and development, Environmen- tal Protection Agency;Anita Tones, director, Defense Research ant} Engineering, Department of Defense; Neal Lane, director, National Science Founclation;Anne Petersen, deputy director, National Science Foundation; Kathleen Peroff, deputy associate director, Energy anct Science Division, Office of Management anti Budget. The committee also extends its thanks to the following members of Congress and congressional staff who proviclect background ant! additional information to the chair and staff: Senator Christopher Bond (R-MO), chair, Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Housing ant! Urban Development,Veterans Affairs, and :Indepen- cient Agencies; Congressman Robert Walker (R-WD, chair, House Science Committee, ant! vice-chair, House Budget Committee; and the staff of the House Science Com- mittee, including Anne Marcantognini, deputy chief of staff; Michael Rodemeyer, chief democratic counsel; Deirdre Stach, budget analyst; Ed McGaffigan, senior political aciviser for budget, defense, foreign relations, ant! veterans for Senator Jeff Bingaman; Craig Higgins, majority clerk for the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education; and Ed Long, former majority clerk for the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education. The committee is grateful for the efforts of the following members of the Office of Science ancITechnology Policy: John H. Gibbons, assistant to the President for science ant! technology; MRC Greenwood, former associate director for science; Lionel Johns, associate director for technology; lane Wales, associate clirector for national security and international affairs; Robert Watson, associate director for environment; Catherine Woteki, acting associate director for science; and Angela Phillips Diaz, executive secretary. 93

OCR for page 93
94 /APPENDIX C For their assistance in data gathering, preparation, and consultation the com- mittee extends its thanks to the following individuals: Harriet Dustan, member, Institute of Medicine; Ed Roccella, coordinator, National High Blood Pressure Educa- tion Program; Rebecca Henderson, associate professor of management, Massachu- setts Institute of Technology; Russell Herndon and Robert Tuohy, Defense Research and Engineering, Department of Defense; Harvey Brooks, professor of technology and public policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Bruce Fonoroff, Army Research Laboratory; Howard Garrison, Federation of Ameri- can Societies for Experimental Biology; Robert Levy, president,Wyeth-Ayerst Re- search; Stanley Trice, analyst, Defense Research and Engineering, Department of Defense; lane Bortnick Griffiths, acting chief, Science and Technology Division, Congressional Research Service; Genevieve Knew, Congressional Research Service; Richard Rowberg, Smithsonian Institution; Kei Koizumi, Kathie Gramp, and Al Teich, Axnerican Association for the Advancement of Science; Robert Smith; David Guston, Rutgers University; Philip Smith; Marvin Ebel, Council on Governmental Relations; .Iohn.Tankowski, Ronald Meeks, and Linda Parker, National Science Foundation; David Kingsbury, director, Genome Database, John Hopkins University; Michael Crow, Columbia University;Ann Markusen, Rutgers University; Donald Stokes, Center for Advanced Study; Richard Nelson, Columbia University; Kitty Gilman, National Science and Technology Council; Donna Possum and Tim Webb, Critical Technologies Institute, RAND; T. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Fran- cisco; Marjory Blumenthal, director, Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, National Research Council; A. Michael Spence, chair, Committee on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy, National Academy of Sciences; Bob Bayer, Depart- ment of Defense; Bob Meisner. To gather views from a broad range of interests, the committee organized outreach sessions to help frame its observations and recommendations. The first session was held at Stanford University on February 2l, 1995. Another was held at the University of Texas et Austin onApri! 7. To continue the dialogue the committee also took advantage of previously scheduled meetings such as the AmericanAssocia- tion for the Advancement of Science annual meeting, the Sigma Xi Forum, and the annual meetings of the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering. We com- mittee is grateful to all those who attended its outreach sessions and to the follow- ing individuals for their assistance with its outreach efforts: Gerhard Casper, presi- dent, Stanford University; Charles Kruger, vice provost for research and policy, Stanford University; Kathy Eslinger, executive assistant to the vice provost for re- search and policy, Stanford University; and Nancy Mallory and Susie Pruett, assistants to the vice president of research and development, University of Texas et Austin. Finally, the committee would like to recognize the special contributions of both the National Research Council staff and the independent consultants who served on the study: Norman Metzger, executive director of the Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics, and Applications, who served as the study director; Robert Cook-Deegan of the Institute of Medicine, who served as the senior program officer; Michael McGeary, Christopher T. Hill, and Patrick Young, who served as con- sultants; Julie Esanu, for the program and research assistance provided to the com- m~ttee; DanieHe DehmIer, for the staff support for the committee and for her work in preparing the final manuscript; and Susan Maurizi, who edited the final manuscript.