Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel
Click for next page ( 649

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 648
A P P E N D I X Ctail~7ll~e~ ()f the G National Research Council GEORGE E. HALE Permanent Chairman Honorary Chairman A. A. NOYES Acting Chairman JOHN C. MERRIAM Acting Chairman Chairman JAMES R. ANGELL Chairman HENRY A. BUMSTEAD Chairman CHARLES D. WALCOTT Acting Chairman JOHN C. MERRIAM Chairman, Executive Board September 20, 1916-April 29, 1919 April 30, 1919-February 21, 1938 May 31,1918-June 30,1918 July 1, 1918-April 29, 1919 April 30, 1919-June 30, 1919 July 1, 1919-June 30, 1920 July 1, 1920-December 31, 1920 January 1 ,192 1-June 1 7,1 921 June 18,1921-June 30, 1923 lithe minutes of the NRC Executive Board (April 24, 1921) state that the Chairman of 648

OCR for page 648
Appends G 1 649 GANG DUNN Chairman, Executive Board Chairman GEORGE K. BURGESS Chairman WILLIAM H. HOWELL Chauman ISAIAH BOWMAN Chairman FRANK R. LILLIE Chairman2 LUDVIG HEKTOEN Chairman ROSS G. HARRISON Chairman DETLEV W. BRONK Chairman DOUGLAS WHITAKER Chairman WILLIAM W. RUBEY Chairman DETLEV W. BRONK Chairman, ex officios FREDERICK SEITZ Chairman, ex officio July 1, 1923-June 30, 1924 July 1, 1924-June 30,1928 July 1, 1928-June 30,1932 July 1, 1932-June 30,1933 July 1, 193 3-June 3 O. 1935 July 1, 1935-June 30,1936 July 1, 1936-February 7,1938 February 8, 1 938-June 30, 1946 July 1, 1946-June 30, 1950 September 1, 1950-June 30,1951 October 1, 1951-October 9,1954 October 10,1954-June 30,1962 July 1, 1962-June 30,1969 the Executive Board "shall exercise full authority of the Chairman of the Council, but shall not be considered to be in residence and shall not be responsible for routine details of the office." 2 Frank R. Lillie was President of the Academy from July 1, 1935, to June 30, 1939. 3With the resignation of William Rubey in 1954, Detlev Bronk, President of the Acad- emy, assumed the duties of the Chairman of the National Research Council. This action was later affirmed by the Academy Council when it voted in June 1959 to designate Dr. Bronk Chairman of NRC. At a meeting of the Council in October 1962, it was stated that the intention at that time was to establish the general principle that the President of the Academy should serve as Chairman of the National Research Council ("Minutes of the Council," October 9-10, 1954; June 14, 1959; October 6-7, 1962).