Click for next page ( 158

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 157
Appendix A: Pane! Members PANEL ON ATOMIC, MOLECULAR, AND OPTICAL PHYSICS DANIEL KLEPPNER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chairman C. LEWIS COCKE, JR., Kansas State University ALEXANDER DAEGARNO, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics ROBERT W. FIELD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology THEODOR W. HANSCH, Stanford University NEAL F. LANE, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs JOSEPH H. MACEK, University of Nebraska FRANCIS M. PIPKIN, Harvard University IVAN A. SELLIN, Oak Ridge National Laboratory PANEL ON CONDENSED-MATTER PHYSICS ALEXEI A. MARADUDIN, University of California, Irvine, Chairman NEIL W. ASHCROFT, Cornell University JOHN D. AXE, Brookhaven National Laboratory PRAVEEN CHAUDHARI, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center C. PETER FLYNN, University of Illinois JERRY P. GOLLUB, Haverford College BERTRAND I. HALPERIN, Harvard University 157

OCR for page 157
158 APPENDIX A DAVID L. HUBER, University of Wisconsin RICHARD M. MARTIN, Xerox Corporation DOUGLAS L. MILLS, University of California, Irvine ROBERT C. RICHARDSON, Cornell University JOHN M. POWELL, AT&T Bell Laboratories PANEL ON ELEMENTARY-PARTICLE PHYSICS MARTIN L. PERL, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Chairman CHARLES BAETAY, Columbia University MARTIN BREIDENBACH, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center GERALD FEINBERG, Columbia University HOWARD A. GORDON, Brookhaven National Laboratory LAWRENCE W. JONES, University of Michigan BOYCE D. MCDANIEE, Cornell University FRANK S. MERRITT, The University of Chicago ROBERT P. PALMER, Brookhaven National Laboratory JAMES M. PATERSON, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center JOHN PEOPLES, JR., Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory CHRIS QU1GG, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory DAVID M. RITSON, Stanford University DAVID N. SCHRAMM, The University of Chicago A. J. STEWART SMITH, Princeton University MARK W. STROVINK, University of California, Berkeley PANEL ON GRAVITATION, COSMOLOGY, AND COSMIC-RAY PHYSICS DAVID T. WILKINSON, Princeton University, Chairman PETER L. BENDER, University of Colorado DOUGLAS M. EARDLEY, University of California, Santa Barbara THOMAS K. GAISSER, University of Delaware JAMES B. HARTLE, University of California, Santa Barbara MARTIN H. ISRAEL, Washington University LAWRENCE W. JONES, University of Michigan R. BRUCE PARTRIDGE, Haverford College DAVID N. SCHRAMM, The University of Chicago IRWIN I. SHAPIRO, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics ROBERT F. C. VESSOT, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics ROBERT V. WAGONER, Stanford University

OCR for page 157
APPENDIX A 159 PANEL ON NUCLEAR PHYSICS JOSEPH CERNY, University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, Chairman PAUL T. DEBEVEC, University of Illinois, Urbana ROBERT A. EISENSTEIN, Carnegie-Mellon University NOEMIE BENCZER KOELER, Rutgers University STEVEN E. KOONIN, California Institute of Technology PETER D. MACD. PARKER, Yale University R. G. HAMISH ROBERTSON, Los Alamo s National Laboratory STEVEN E. VIGDOR, Indiana University JOHN D. WAEECKA, Stanford University PANEL ON THE PHYSICS OF PLASMAS AND FLUIDS RONALD C. DAVIDSON, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Co-chairman JOHN M. DAWSON, University of California, LOS Angeles, Co-chairman GEORGE BEKEF1, Massachusetts Institute of Technology ROY GOULD, California Institute of Technology ABRAHAM HERTZBERG, University of Washington CHARLES F. KENNEL, University of California, Los Angeles LouIs J. LANZEROTTI, AT&T Bell Laboratories E. P. MUNTZ, University of Southern California RICHARD F. POST, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory NORMAN ROSTOKER, University of California, Irvine PAUL H. RUTHERFORD, Princeton University Plasma Physics Laboratory PANEL ON SCIENTIFIC INTERFACES AND TECHNOLOGICAL APPLICATIONS WATT W. WEBB, Cornell University, Co-Chairman PAUL A. FLEURY, AT&T Bell Laboratories, Co-Chairman TED G. BEREINCOURT, Office of Naval Research AARON N. BLOCH, EXXON Research and Engineering ROBERT A. BUHRMAN, Cornell University PETER M. EISENBERGER, EXXON Research and Engineering MITCHELL FEIGENBAUM, Cornell University KENNETH A. JACKSON, AT&T Bell Laboratories ANGELO A. LAMOLA, Polaroid Corporation

OCR for page 157
160 APPENDIX A JAMES S. LANGER, University of California, Santa Barbara ROBERT ~ PARK, University of Maryland WILLIAM H. PRESS, Harvard University DONALD TURCOTTE, Cornell University ALEXAr4DER ZUCKER, Oak Ridge National Laboratory